Home > Uncategorized > Damian Slater arrives in Japan!

Damian Slater arrives in Japan!

January 18, 2012

Damian Slater has landed in Japan!! Slater is the 5th wrestler from NWA Pro in Australia to head to Japan for ZERO1, following in the footsteps of Hartley Jackson, Robby Heart, Wreckin’ Ball Wilson and Arland Slex! NWA Pro wishes Slater the best of luck for his matches in Japan and we endeavor to keep you updated on his progress, even if he is an ‘ocean’ away!

DAMIAN SLATER – PATH TO JAPAN

I had never experienced Japanese wrestling until I walked through the doors of the Monster Factory in 2003 to begin my Pro Wrestling training. Australian wrestling old timer Col Dervany greeted me with VHS tapes full of British and Japanese wrestling matches from the 80s and 90s. At first I was a little skeptical as I’d been brought up as a ‘Sports Entertainment’ kid, attracted to the flashy colours and trash talking. Then I watched a tape of the New Japan Pro Wrestling 1995 Super J Cup, a tournament that made the likes of Chris Jericho, Eddie Guerrero, Chris Benoit etc. It was the first time I’d been exposed to the technical grace of wrestling, not to mention the downright war that a Pro Wrestling contest can be.

There was a guy in the tournament by the name of Shinjiro Otani who was throwing kneepad-less springboard dropkicks at Ultimo Dragon as if he were fighting for his life. I was immediately hooked to the intensity of fighters like Otani. Later on I became inspired by the submission fluency of a wrestler by the name of Ikuto Hidaka. In wrestling I have always made short term goals rather than long term. I find that this way everything is attainable and I naturally just progress for fear of remaining stagnant or falling behind. Japan was my long term goal, but it’s a tough place to be accepted into.

Fast forward to 2007 when I moved to California for 3 months, and then again in 2009. This was the next logical step being that I didn’t have any contacts in Japan and was already wrestling in every major city in Australia. I was able to train with guys who are currently big names in Japan and it was there that I was really introduced to a different world of wrestling. Ever since, submission grappling has been my passion to the point where I started training and competing in Brazilian Jiu Jitsu in 2009 to further my skills.

Cut again to 2012 which is gearing up to be a big year for me. I’ll be doing what I always do and treating it as if it is my last. Who am I to doubt some Mayan dudes from 2000 years ago?

At the end of 2010 and then 2011, the Zero1 Pro Wrestling President Yoshiyuki Nakamura came to Adelaide to scout talent. As a result of this, on January 17th I will be traveling to Japan for a 2 month stay at the Zero-1 Pro Wrestling Dojo. My trainers will be Shinjiro Otani and Ikuto Hidaka. There were 4 NWA Pro wrestlers who ventured to Zero1 in 2011. I have every confidence that I can not only continue the reputation that Australia is building in the wrestling world, but bring something new to the table and exceed the expectations that have been set of me. I’ve been waiting 8 years for this moment and am ready for anything. Anything barring raw fish or Godzilla.

Stay gold Adelaide. I’ll see you soon,
Damian Slater

Categories: Uncategorized
