Home > Uncategorized > ZERO1 Monthly Interviews: Robby Heart (September 2012)

ZERO1 Monthly Interviews: Robby Heart (September 2012)

September 2, 2012

2 time NWA Australian National Champion Robby Heart was next up on the interview table. Read what he had to say just days before embarking on his 2nd tour of Japan!

 

Favourite band?

Tie between Marilyn Manson and Pantera

 

Favourite movie?

Anything starring Jim Carrey

 

First memory of Wrestling?

Probably watching Hulk Hogan’s Rock ‘n’ Wrestling as a kid

 
Who were your influences growing up?

Shawn Michaels and Bret ‘Hitman’ Hart

 

Where did you get your start in wrestling?

I started training at the Pro Wrestling Dojo in Adelaide just before the 1st ever EPW Adelaide (now ZERO1 Australia) event in 2006. I made my debut at that event against Devlin Reeves from Perth and I guess the rest is history.

 

If you weren’t a Professional Wrestler, what would you be?

Professional Boxer

 

Worst Injury in wrestling?

I thought I broke my leg performing a moonsault to the outside in Melbourne a few years back. Luckily it came good about a month later.

 

What have been some of your most memorable highlights wrestling in Australia?

Winning the Australian National Championship twice. Wrestling at the Royal Adelaide Show and getting the chance to wrestle regularly at the prestigious Thebarton Theatre right here in Adelaide.

 

Who have been your favourite opponents so far?

‘Jag’ Hartley Jackson, Damian Slater, Ryan Eagles, Super Crazy and Bruce ‘Havok’ Mills

 

You travelled to Japan and competed in the 2011 ZERO1 Tenkaichi Jr Tournament. What were some of the highlights of the tour?

Wrestling at Korakuen Hall was certainly a highlight; something I didn’t take for granted. I met some real nice people while I was over there too. Super Crazy was incredibly cool and I learnt plenty from his training sessions. Also an American guy called Nick Primo took real good care of me.

 

List 3 wrestlers you’d like to face in the future and why?

Prince Devitt – As far as Junior Heavyweight wrestling goes, particularly in Japan, he certainly sets the standard as far as skill level is concerned. I would love to see if I could match him at his level.

Joey Graham – Certainly one of the most underrated wrestlers in the country. I see so much potential in that guy and he is only 20 years old. I think we could have a phenomenal singles match. The Hotrodz are my favourite tag team to watch right now.

Greg Graham – Again, very underrated. He possesses super smooth wrestling skills and technical ability for a guy that weights 250lbs. Both he and his brother are incredibly talented and I have no doubt that I could have a really entertaining match with either one of those two guys.

 

What are your plans for the remainder of 2012 and beyond?

I am heading to Japan for my 2nd consecutive ZERO1 Tenkaichi Jr. Tournament in September. I am really looking forward to that.

From there I have a rematch with Ryan Eagles for the Australian National Title at Thebarton Theatre in November. I want to become the first ever 3 time Champion which would be incredible.

Next year I certainly hope to head overseas again; where and when I am not sure as of yet. I still have a couple of good years left in me and I don’t want to leave this sport with any regrets. I have sacrificed everything to get where I am today.

Categories: Uncategorized
