Home > Uncategorized > ZERO1 Monthly Interviews: Chris Vice (May 2013)

ZERO1 Monthly Interviews: Chris Vice (May 2013)

May 12, 2013

Known in Perth circles as ‘The Smashing Machine,’ Chris Vice has been tearing up opponents around Australia and the USA for 8 years. Vice played a huge role in the early days of ZERO1 Australia (known then as EPW Adelaide) and has returned to Adelaide over the past year with a whole new reckless abandon. Read what he had to say about his career so far…

Chris Vice showing that he has the agility to match his power (Credit: EPW)

Chris Vice showing that he has the agility to match his power (Credit: EPW)

 

First memories of wrestling?
Watching VHS tapes of Wrestlemania 4 and Survivor Series ‘89 as a 5 year old and becoming instantly hooked.

 

Who were your influences growing up in wrestling and who are your influences now?
As a very young kid I was really into Hogan, The Ultimate Warrior, The Hart Foundation and British Bulldogs. A few years later it was guys like Bret Hart and Shawn Michaels. Even now I’m still big on the Bulldogs, especially Dynamite Kid.

 

If you weren’t a Professional Wrestler, what would you be?
I would probably have been training in some form grappling and/or kickboxing.

 

Favourite bands?
I’m into all kinds of stuff, artists like Megadeth and Metallica as well as Eazy E, Ice Cube and Notorious B.I.G.

 

Favourite films?
Bad Boy Bubby, Bloodsport, anything with Tom Hanks and any low budget 80s n 90s martial art movies.

 

Worst Injury in wrestling?
I had a (tp) fracture in my back which made wrestling and a lot of things difficult and uncomfortable. Knee dislocations are up there too.

 

You have spent considerable time in California wrestling for the NWA. What are some of the highlights of your time overseas?
Getting to meet and wrestle a lot of really good people as well as training with some really good trainers in styles that I have never learnt before. I really enjoyed working with all the different guys and having the opportunity to wrestle more shows than I normally would at home.

 

What did you learn in the USA that will make you a better wrestler here in Australia?

I learned a lot of things in my time there, being able to adapt to different styles, situations and opponents has really made me more confident and comfortable in the ring.

 

What have been some of the greatest accomplishments in your career so far?
Winning the EPW (Perth) Tag Team Championships with Jonny Wimbledon was something that I was very proud of. We took pride in knowing that we were the best tag team in the company. Winning the final of the EPW Invitational Tournament against Damian Slater and Carlo Cannon in a 3 way dance back in 2011 was a great moment for me. I had just blown my knee out 3 days before the match and was barely able 2 walk but I pushed though and came out on top against 2 of the best.

 

Who have been your favourite opponents so far?
Marcus Pitt, Shane Haste and Mikey Nicholls

 

List 3 wrestlers you’d like to face in the future and why?

Ryan Eagles
– have never faced him and would love a chance to take on the Australian National Champion.
Willie Mack – we faced off a couple times overseas and it’s just incredible what he can do in the ring.
Marcus Pitt – always a hard hitting, action packed opponent that brings the competitiveness out in the both of us.

 

What are your plans for 2013 and beyond?
To keep smashing through my opponents, not just in Perth and Adelaide but the rest of the country too. Wrestling overseas is also on the cards.

Categories: Uncategorized
