Home > Uncategorized > ZERO1 Monthly Interviews: Marcius Pitt (May 2013)

ZERO1 Monthly Interviews: Marcius Pitt (May 2013)

May 19, 2013

Marcius Pitt is one of the most well-travelled individuals to have come out of the west, having racked up numerous tours of the USA as well as frequently wrestling for ZERO1 in Adelaide. The current EPW Heavyweight Champion caught up with ZERO1 to record some thoughts on his career so far before he ventures back to Adelaide this weekend for ZERO1 REVOLUTION @ Cosgrove Hall.

Not many have reached a level of dominance like Marcius Pitt [Credit: Cory Lockwood]

Not many have reached a level of dominance like Marcius Pitt [Credit: Cory Lockwood]

First memories of wrestling?

I remember my first memory of wrestling was when I was 10 years old. I snuck out of my room and turned on the TV and what I saw on the screen in front of me was amazing. A big man in a mask tearing a door off of a big cage looking thing, getting into the ring, making fire shoot out from everywhere……. And dropping this other big man on his head…… All I thought was……. “COOL”.
Who were your influences growing up in wrestling and who are your influences now?

My biggest influence growing up was Stone Cold Steve Austin. Now days, guys I look up to are people like Brock Lesnar, John Cena and Randy Orton.

If you weren’t a Professional Wrestler, what would you be?
A firefighter.

Favourite bands?
Rise Against, Blink 182, The Bronx, Amity Affliction, Cold, A Day To Remember, Gallows, Hilltop Hoods, Linkin Park, A Perfect Circle, Puscifer, Refused…….. I think you guys get the idea.

Favourite films?
The Sandlot, The Resident Evil series.

Worst Injury in wrestling?
I was head butted in a match which chipped the back of my tooth and caused me to have a giant hole in my chin which required 12 internal and 12 external stitches. So to be honest I have been very lucky!

You have just returned from the USA where you trained with Booker T and wrestled for his Reality Of Wrestling promotion. However what some may not know is that you’ve spent considerable time wrestling in California in the past. What are some of the highlights of your time overseas?
The biggest eye opener over in the states was the frequency that you could wrestle, there was the opportunity to wrestle at least once a week, sometimes 2-3 times in the one weekend. In the 12 weeks that I was away for, I wrestled close to 30 matches which was nearly the equivalent to wrestling 3 times a week. Back home, that would nearly equal two full years of wrestling matches.

The other scary part was rocking up to shows and not knowing who you were wrestling. In Perth, we usually find out who were are working at least 2 weeks before show day so it gives you plenty of time to sit and think things through. As well, all of the wrestlers in your home promotion are the guys who you train with on a weekly basis so you know their style and how they work. When arriving to shows in the US, you would enter the building, introduce yourself to anybody and everybody, and find out who you were wrestling 1 hour, sometimes even less before you were due to go through the curtain. That was a massive slap in the face to someone who always had excessive amounts of preparation time for their matches.

What did you learn in the USA that will make you a better wrestler here in Australia?
I don’t believe that there is a particular thing that you learn over there that makes you better. I have seen lots of guys go over there and come back exactly the same as they left. Every single person’s experience is different. My opinion is that you only get out of it what you put in. A bit of hard work goes a long way.

3 of your TMDK comrades Jonah Rock, Shane Haste and Mikey Nicholls have all been touring Japan with Pro Wrestling NOAH as of late. Is Japan something you see in your future? Why/Why not?
I think I will definitely do Japan one day yes, it would be an incredible experience in such different surroundings. Plus working for a place like Pro Wrestling NOAH would look great on anyone’s resume.

What have been some of the greatest accomplishments in your career so far? 
Being a 4x EPW champion and equalling Davis Storm’s record is something I am very fond of. It is always very humbling to be looked at as the top guy…… But apart from that, I don’t feel I have accomplished much in my career, hopefully those accomplishments are just around the corner though!

Who have been your favourite opponents so far?

Robby Heart – My first big singles match was against Robby in 2008 at EPW’s Reawakening 7. Since that time, we have wrestled numerous times at Zero 1.

Carlo Cannon
– Funnily enough, all of the matches that myself and Carlo have competed in have always been very high stakes. He was the man I pinned to win the Invitational Tournament in 2010.

Davis Storm – The feud I had with Davis Storm in 2011 was the biggest I’ve encountered. That year I won the EPW championship off of him twice and solidified myself in main event status.

List 3 wrestlers you’d like to face in the future and why?

 Mike Petersen – Let’s see how big he really is…….

Damian Slater – I haven’t faced Slater since EPW’s Evolution 2009 where he put a beating on me. I don’t know if it would all go down the same way now!

Robbie Eagles
– He looks like he would be a lot of fun to throw around!

What are your plans for 2013 and beyond?

The plan for Marcius Pitt now is simple……… Gaining that all elusive WWE contract. That is what I work towards each new day, that is my ultimate goal.

Categories: Uncategorized
